Crafting · Finished Object · Knitting · Pattern

Blocking – Before and After

I have a confession to make:  I don’t like blocking projects.

It’s not always required, but it is almost always helpful and makes the project look better and finish it properly.  I like the look of projects when they are blocked and fully believe that they are better off for it.  I just don’t like doing it.

So every now and then, I have a block(ing) party and get some things ready to go.

My most recent go at blocking included two shawls made to a pattern that I wrote and it is absolutely necessary to make them look their best.  The before and after make it absolutely satisfying to block.

Since I don’t really like blocking, I try to make my life a little easier with good tools.  As mentioned previously, I use blocking wires.  It takes a little longer to carefully thread your project on to the wires, but the straight edges you get make it really worth the effort.

And now, what you really have been waiting for, the pictures!

Singularity Shawl knit with Western Sky Knits Willow worsted- superwash merino in colourway:  Solar Flare  (This was an ESK Space Colour exclusive from 2016).  This is the yarn weight the pattern was originally designed for and yielded a 48″ wingspan after blocking. If you are interested in the details, here is the project link.

blocking-before-and-after

This project has been finished for a while, just waiting for the right time to block.  Right after finishing this one, I decided I wanted to see what the pattern would look like worked up in a sock weight, again using most of one single skein.

Here is Singularity Shawl, knit with madelinetosh Tosh Sock in colourway:  Rainwater. This is not the yarn weight the pattern was originally designed for, however I was curious to see what sort of size I would get knitting it from a single skein as well.  It yielded a 60″ wingspan after blocking. If you are interested in the details, here is the project link.  I probably could have blocked this a little more aggressively, but I was happy with the result.

blocking-before-and-after-2

 

Leave a Reply

