Crafting · Knitting · Tutorial

So you want to be a knitter – Lesson 4

Lesson 4:  The body of your work 

Bonus:  Stitch markers are your friends!

So we ended our last lesson with the first section of ribbing, from the pattern: “Work in 1×1 rib (k1, p1) for 1 (1.5, 1.5) inches.

WP_20160507_17_05_43_RichDepending on your gauge, this could be more or less rows which will vary widely by knitter, type of yarn and size of needle.

For my project, this turned out to be about 8 rows.  You can count each little “V” in a column to determine how many rows you have (after knitting) or count along every time you pass your stitch marker.

You don’t need to have an exact row count if you are going with a measurement, but I tend to be a little obsessive about having the cuffs match, so I like to note it down, usually by scribbling on the pattern printout. (sorry trees, I am a scribbler!)

The pattern calls for a setup round: k26 (32, 66), PM, knit to end.

This means knit (k) 32 stitches (for my size), place a marker (PM), and knit to end (the beginning of round stitch marker.  If you think you will have trouble keeping track of which is the beginning of the round marker and which is your mid round marker, you can use two different kinds or colours.

For this pattern, it is relatively simple to tell, but there is no harm in differentiating!  The beauty of stitch markers is that they can tell/remind you where you need to change things up from what you are doing.  In this pattern, it means switch from knit stitches to purl stitches and back again.

The body of the cowl is a very easy to remember pattern.  For the first round, purl until you reach your marker then switch to knit stitches until you reach your next marker.  Then knit a round plain.

I have a lot of trouble knitting a pattern as intended, my minor mod is to just repeat round 1, that is, to purl to a marker, knit to a marker and repeat without the knit round in between.  I promised myself to try to knit it as written but I just can’t help it!  There is nothing wrong with modifying a pattern to make something the way you want it!  This is one reason why we are knitting instead of buying something from a store!

To remind myself of this mod, I have added a note to my Ravelry project page.  I used the quick note button, so it automatically adds a date to the note.  While I was there, I also uploaded my project photos (from the past few posts).

project note

My cowl is shaping up to look a little something like this (with lovely Hamilton in the background):

WP_20160508_13_45_59_Rich

Coming up:  Lesson 5 – Binding off and weaving in your ends

Leave a Reply

