Crafting · Crochet · Finished Object

Easy Peasy Woman’s Winter Hat

This is my most recently finished object which was made as a commission for my Mother’s friend.  My project page can be found on Ravelry if you want specific notes with regard to the pattern “Easy Peasy Woman’s Winter Hat“.

WP_20160211_09_15_13_Pro_LI

There is a stigma in the knitting world with regard to acrylic yarn.  Some of it comes from how acrylic yarn used to be.  It used to be scratchy and rough to work with.  It’s “cheap” compared to what you will pay for a natural fiber like wool or cotton.  To this I say, you need to meet the new acrylics.  There is a time and a place, and all brands are not created equal.

The acrylic I used in this hat is Knit Picks Brava Worsted Weight and it is one of the softest acrylics I know.  It is my go-to yarn for blankets and other projects that need to be machine washable and stand up to harder use.  As a Canadian, it can be difficult purchasing online from the US, but I have found Knit Picks to be very good, they offer a fixed shipping cost to Canada (with minimum purchase) and they charge tax at the point of sale, which means that it doesn’t go through the customs black hole (more on this in a later post..).

I only made minor modifications to the pattern., I added the stripe element as I love a pop of colour.  I also used a different pattern for the flower accent than the pattern calls for as I like them to be interchangeable!  I had a lot of fun making three different colour combinations to go with this commission, as well as picking out the right button!

flowers

I hope the recipient loves it as much as I did making it.  I was slightly inspired and may have made a few design choices along the way that were outside what we discussed, but I fell in love with the light blue and light purple with the silver grey.  It’s a little bit of bright cheer in the middle of winter!

WP_20160211_23_58_14_Pro_LI

Leave a Reply

